Samuel Asare of Prempeh College won the 100m race with a time of 10.78s in the 2017 GNPC Ghana’s Fastest Human held at the University of Ghana Athletics Stadium last Saturday.

Charles Bilson of Cape Coast clocked 10.79 s. to take the second position in the keenly contested race with Charles Korsah of Winneba clocking 10.83s. to take the third position.

In the Girls U-18 race, Mary Boakye of Kumasi Anglican SHS emerged winner with a time of 12.29s, while Comfort Tettey Ablorh of Krobo Girls SHS took the second position with a time of 12.42s.

She was followed closely by Forgive Fiase of ST Bosco Technical who clocked 13.14s.

In the U-18 seniors event, contestants from University of Cape Coast proved too tough when two students from the university took the first and second positions. While Emmanuel Yeboah won with a time of 10.18s, Shadrack Opoku Agyeman, also of UCC clocked 10.50s to take the second position with Desmond Aryee of University of Ghana clocking 10;53 s, to win the third position .

In the girls category, Sandra Konadu, a product of the University of Ghana, easily won the race by clocking 12.12s, while Marian Pomaa of UCC finished second with a time of 12.30s. Elizabeth Tuffour of Kumasi Wey Gey Hey clocked 14.38s to take the third position.

The Boys U – 15 category which attracted much attention saw Oscar Ntim of Tafo Pankrano JHS producing a stunning 10.84 seconds to emerge winner with Sylvester Doe of Tapps B JHS taking the second position with a time of 10.97s, while Michael Denkyi of New Edubiase JHS clocked 11.20s to win the third position.

In the Girls division, Gifty Oku of Unipra South JHS ran an impressive 12.75 seconds to grab the first position with Esther Ocloo of Ghana SHS clocking 12: 76 to win the second position while Shamsiyat Issaka of Damfa M/A JHS won the third position with a time of 13.05s.

Other winners in the Boys U 10 division were Dennis Aggrey of University Basic School (12.78s) Emmanuel Gyimah from the Ashanti Region (13.10s) and Nathaniel Boadu also from the Ashanti Region (13:12s).

In the Girls U 10, Charity Dadzie-Kotei Deduako in Ashanti Region won with a time of 13.58 s, followed by Asamoah Winifred of Kubekrom (13.38s) and Rhoda Boye of Katamanso Primary (14.39s).


    Related articles

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    %d bloggers like this: